Most women who were nominated by political parties to the Senate, Parliament and County Assemblies in 2013 effectively used their positions to join elective politics.

13 of the nominated women successfully won elections during the August 8 polls after intense campaigns.

Three of them who were nominated MCAs, four as senators and one as MP sailed through to Parliament.

Mary Waithira who was nominated MCA in Muranga was elected Maragwa MP while Wanjiku wa Kibe who was MCA in Kiambu is now Gatundu North MP-elect.

Former Nominated Senator Naisula Lesuuda who is now MP Samburu West.

In Laikipia, Catherine Wanjiku (Jubilee Party) who was MCA between 2013 and July 2017 is now woman representative. She beat he rivals after garnering 138,397 votes.

She rode on the platform of youth agenda and her consistent war on illicit brews in the region to win support.

Kibe a former broadcaster nominated by TNA to the Kiambu County Assembly is the only female MP in the County after Alice N’gan’ga (Thika Town) and Esther Gathogo (Ruiru) were bundled out.

Waithira made a name for herself when she moved a Motion to impeach Governor Mwangi Wairia before the move was quashed by the Senate.

Nominated senators, who are joining the National Assembly as elected MPs include Fatuma Dullo (Party of Reforms and Democracy) while Liza Chelule and Janet Ong’era are now Woman Representatives for Nakuru and Kisii Counties respectively.

Martha Wangari and Naisula Lesuuda on the other hand join Parliament as elected MPs.

Nominated MP Sarah Paulata Korere (Jubilee Party) bounced back to the National Assembly as Laikipia North MP and Janet Teiyaa who had been nominated to represent special interest groups in the House is now Kajiabo County Woman Representative under Jubilee Party.

Korere beat her arch-rival and controversial ODM MP Mathew Lempurkel in Laikipia North.