NASA senators yesterday boycotted committees elections following their Jubilee colleagues’ prolonged ganging up to lock them out of leadership positions.

The disgruntled National Super Alliance members skipped the election of the chair and vice chairpersons of five committees in protest of what they termed State House interference.

Senate’s 16 committees held elections for 32 chair and vice chairpersons from Tuesday to Thursday where NASA only won the Public Accounts committee chair slot, constitutionally reserved for the Opposition.

The elections saw some Jubilee members such as Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja and his Meru counterpart Mithika Linturi elected to lead two committees.

Sakaja was elected the chair Labor committee and vice chair National Security and Foreign Relations.

Linturi was elected vice chair of Public Accounts Committee, and Justice, Legal Affairs and Human Rights.

Opposition senators yesterday skipped Justice and Legal Affairs committee polls that saw Nandi senator Samson Cherarkey elected unopposed as chairman.

Cherarkey defended Jubilee’s move to lock out NASA members from either of the two top positions saying they those with numbers had to carry the day.

“This is democracy. You cannot win an election and form the government then you reward the competitor. We have talked to NASA members to understand so that we can work together in discharging our oversight duties,” he said.

Cherarkey, however, disclosed that Jubilee members adhered to their principals President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto’s directive to elect nominees they proposed.

Linturi assured that Justice and Legal Affairs committee will ensure that proper laws especially ones on elections are put in place to ensure the process is free, fair and credible to meet Kenyans’ expectations.

“We will legislate laws on constitutionalism, justice and elections issues to ensure required systems are put in place on time in future. We expect political players to embrace the election laws we will come up with,” he said.

Garissa Senator was elected National Security and Foreign Relations committee chairman while his Laikipia counterpart John Kinyua chairs committee on Devolved Governments and Intergovernmental Relations.

Kinyua will be deputized by Wario Juma (Tana River).

West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio won the Committee on Delegate Legislation chair and will be deputized by Farhiya Haji (nominated).

Mohamed Mahamud (Mandere) was elected chair Finance and Budget Committee and will be deputized by Isaac Mwaura.