MPs have approved the nomination of former Finance Minister and Kipipiri MP Amos Kimunya, Meru County Woman Representative Kawira Mwangaza and two others to represent the Jubilee Party in the crucial House Business Committee.

The nominees were approved during the morning sitting which was largely attended by the Jubilee MPs as their NASA counterparts walked out in order to attend their Parliamentary Group meeting.

Other Jubilee nominees to the powerful housekeeping committee are Kitutu Masaba MP Shadrack John Mose and Turkana County Woman Representative Joyce Akai Emanikor.

The Minority side led by ODM Chairman and Suba South MP John Mbadi and Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa – who served as the Minority Deputy Whip in the 11th Parliament – had pleaded with the House Speaker Justin Muturi to defer debate on the matter until the afternoon sitting when they would submit their nominees.

“I am requesting that let us start this House on the spirit of teamwork. When you look at the acronym of TEAM, it means Together Everyone Achieves More. As the Jubilee side tries to achieve more, the NASA side also wants to achieve more. So let us legislate together for the benefit of Kenyans,” Wamalwa pleaded.

The House Business Committee is appointed within seven days on assembly of a new House and is charged with the responsibility to prepare and adjust the parliamentary calendar with the approval of the House.