President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Majority of opposition NASA’s MPs and the Judiciary boycotted President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Tuesday address for the opening of the 12th Parliament.

Only one NASA legislator – Webuye East’s Alfred Sambu of Amani National Congress – attended the function.

The MPs legislators had threatened to boycott the session.

Minority whip-designate Opiyo Wandayi (Ugunja, ODM) led the boycott call saying they cannot sit and listen to a lame-duck President.

“We as members of NASA, and myself for that matter, find it politically untenable to sit in Parliament and listen to a person against whom my party leader is competing against,” he said.

A spot check also indicated Supreme Court representatives were nowhere to be seen.

The Judiciary representatives gave the sitting a wide berth despite the reservation of seats for them.

Members of the clergy began with a word of prayer, which featured peace in the fresh October 17 presidential election. They included Anglican Archbishop Jackson ole Sapit.

Also present were diplomats, independent MPs, Cabinet Secretaries Najib Balala (Tourism), Eugene Wamalwa (Water), Fred Matiang’i (acting Interior, Education), Henry Rotich (Treasury), Mwangi Kiunjuri (Devolution) and several public service heads.

Uhuru said on Monday a boycott by NASA wouldn’t matter and that Jubilee leaders would carry on with business including passing bills.

“Stay at home. The people who will lose are the people you present because their issues will not be articulated,” he told the opposition led by his rival Raila Odinga, who is NASA presidential candidate.