ODM now claims the Party is being arm twisted by its Coalition partners in in an elaborate media campaign to portray the Raila Odinga led outfit as undependable and greedy.

In an internal Party document on the parliamentary strengthen of the four NASA affiliate parties, ODM concludes that it has in fact donated three of its slots in parliament to its partners.

In the document, Raila’s allies claim they have 98 MPs in both the Senate and the National Assembly and are entitled to 15 slots out of the 23 positions available for the opposition.

However, they have only been allocated 12.

The documents surfaced just days after Kalonzo Musyoka’s Wiper Party protested that ODM shortchanged them and demanded an additional position in the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC)

Wiper has 26 lawmakers –– 23 in the National Assembly and three in the Senate.

This, according to the ODM calculation, Wiper should only get four slots which they have been allocated.
These include Deputy Minority Leader in the National Assembly that was given to Kathiani MP Robert Mbuyi and Senate Minority Whip held by Mutula Kilonzo Junior (Makueni).

The other two slots are a member of the speakers panel and Parliamentary Accounts Committee vice chair both held by Jesica Mbalu (Kibwezi East).

Musalia Mudavadi’s ANC Party on the other hand has 17 lawmakers –– 14 in the National Assembly and three in the Senate.

According to the ODM analysis, this makes ANC eligible for only three  slots yet they have been allocated four.
These include Senate Deputy Minority Whip held by Petronila Were, a member of the senate speakers panel taken by Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala and implementation committee vice chair Godfey Osotsi.

The other slot is  the PSC commission that is yet to be approved but has been allocated to Vihiga Senator George Khaniri.

Moses Wetangu’la’s Ford Kenya on the other hand has 13 lawmakers in the bicameral parliament and according to the ODM document are entitled to only two slots.

However, the Lion Party has already been allocated three, including the powerful Minority Leader of the Senate held by Wetangu’la.
“Despite ODM having 74 per cent of Senators 20/27), it holds no substantive position with Ford K taking Minority Leader despite having 1 Senator and Wiper taking Whip with 3 Senators,”the ODM document states.

The other positions held by Ford Kenya include deputy Minority whip in the Nation Assembly (Chris Wamalwa) and Labour Committee vice chair (Catherine Wambilianga).

“There is no reason for ODM to cede any PSC position. Any discussions should be held between ANC and Wiper as to who gets the Senate PSC slot,”the documents states.

“It is important that the positions held by women are not tampered with since only 1 woman sits in the top eight House leadership positions.”